Importing multiple Labelbox annotation formats to a deep learning model

Hi all,

I’m a beginner with Roboflow and deep learning, and I am a bit stuck on how to get started with my project using Roboflow, and would really appreciate any help or advice!

I’m unsure of the project type as yet. My operating system is MS Windows 10 Pro x64 and my browser is Opera.

I am trying to use a deep learning model to be able to scan dental radiographs/X-rays and hopefully be able to chart which teeth are present/not present on a radiograph, but also to be able to identify and highlight any areas of dental decay. I am using the “Tufts dental image database” which consists of 1000 dental panoramic radiograph images. They are all of a consistent size (1615 x 840 px) at a resolution of 72dpi. There are four folders, each containing various versions of the images as well as a series of JSON files containing annotations. There is a “bounding box” JSON and a “teeth polygon” JSON. These contain bounding box outlines of the teeth and the polygonal information relates to dental decay on the teeth. These have been labelled in Labelbox by dental experts.

I am trying to get started with Roboflow in order to hopefully use the Detectron2 model, because on the Roboflow page for the model it states that it does object detection, and semantic segmentation, which seem to be the two tasks that I need it to do? Object detection (using the bounding box information to outline the teeth) and semantic segmentation (using the teeth polygon information to highlight areas of decay) seem to be the information that I would need.

I would greatly appreciate any help regarding which Project Type that I should create for this? The options that seem relevant to my task are “Object Detection (Bounding Box)” but also “Semantic Segmentation”? The problem is that I can only pick one or the other. Ideally I need my model to be able to do both of these things with unseen radiograph images once the model is trained.