How do i remap or merge classes in the annotator tool?

Probably not a bug, but couldn’t find a good category. Im new to the platform, moved from another platform and imported my work. It added my classes as 0,1,2,3,4 which is not user friendly. I’ve mapped them on generate, so thats part fine. But I need them remapped on the actual annotation I don’t want 0,1,2,3,4,5, I want the actual labels. Now I have the actual labels, and 0,1,2,3,4,5, so it’s gotten out of control. It’s harder to annotate because the list is so long, and I’m not even using the numbers. Do I need to export the mapped files, and start a completely new project an import everything to clean it up? I was going to assign some things to some annotators and get some help, but I cant until I get this worked it, it’s to messy.

It seems like you’re having trouble with class labels in your dataset. Roboflow provides a feature called Class Label Remapping and Omission that can help you manage your class labels more efficiently.

Here’s how you can remap and omit class labels in Roboflow:

1. Navigate to your dataset’s page within the Roboflow platform.
  2. Proceed to generate a new version by selecting Generate New Dataset and click to Add Preprocessing Step.
  3. Choose Modify Classes in the preprocessing options.
  4. You will then be presented with a screen where you can rename your classes and exclude any class annotations that are not needed.

This feature allows you to quickly adjust the scope of your detector and fix any labeling errors. After you apply these changes and finish your other preprocessing and augmentation settings, the dataset version will export with these new class label settings.

If you’re still seeing the old labels, it might be due to some common errors that require a label map, such as class names showing as integers or class labels not being recognized.